NZ’s best of the best cycling projects honoured

Cycling projects across New Zealand were recognised at the Bike to the Future Awards in Auckland tonight.  Winners included a cycling junior football team, a power company and a rural school with a 60% commute-by-bike rate.


Auckland’s Te Ara I Whiti (Lightpath), otherwise known as the Pink Path or Magenta Adventure, was named the Supreme Winner and also received a highly commended award in the Big Bike Bling category.


Judges said the Lightpath is an outstanding, unique and innovative design delivered in a remarkably ambitious timeframe through a successful collaboration with multiple parties.


“We are impressed with how Te Ara I Whiti has transcended walking and cycling for multi-use. In only a short timeframe, the Lightpath has become a celebrated, iconic Auckland feature,” they said.


“The Lightpath has already had over 100,000 users and has quickly become a very important part of Auckland’s cycling network, setting the benchmark for other projects.”


More than 60 projects were nominated for awards, and winners were announced this evening by Hon Simon Bridges, Minister of Transport. There were six category winners, and six further projects that received highly commended awards. Award recipients were:


Supreme Award

·         Supreme Winner – Te Ara I Whiti (Lightpath), Auckland


Innovation Hub Award

·         Category Winner - Te Ara I Whiti (Light Path), Auckland

·         Highly Commended – Safety Audit and Network Functionality Review (SANF), Christchurch City Council


Taking Communities on the Journey Award

·         Category Winner - Ciclovia, Wellington

·         Highly Commended  - Hurunui BMX Club, Amberley


Big Bike Bling Award

·         Category Winner - Te Awa River Ride, Waikato

·         Highly Commended – Te Ara I Whiti (Lightpath), Auckland


Get on Yer Bike Award

·         Category Winner - Rototuna Junior High School, Hamilton

·         Highly Commended – Bike to Soccer, Auckland

·         Highly Commended – Paekakariki Bike Library, Kapiti Coast


Bikes in Business Award

·         Category Winner - Trustpower, Tauranga


Outstanding Contribution to a Bike-Friendly Future Award

·         Category Winner - Max Robitzsch, cycling advocate and transport engineer, Auckland

·         Highly Commended – Jessica Rose, Frocks on Bikes, Auckland


The awards are a joint initiative by the NZ Transport Agency and Cycling Action Network (CAN). They are part of the third 2WALKandCYCLE conference taking place in Auckland from 6-8 July 2016 and recognise all the pedal-pushers, people and organisations working to make cycling a safer and more attractive transport choice.


Dougal List, National Cycling Manager at NZ Transport Agency, says the Bike to the Future Awards are a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the dedication and contribution to cycling from a number of projects and champions.


“New Zealand has evolved quickly as a country where cycling is embraced both for recreation and as a mode of transport. The sheer number of nominations and the quality of the projects is a real testament to the progress we have made on our cycling journey.”


Patrick Morgan, Project Manager at Cycling Action Network (CAN) says the Awards are great way to acknowledge the talented and passionate people who keep the wheels turning.


“With more than a million and a half New Zealanders riding bikes, there's no doubt cycling is on the up. These awards are our chance to salute our leaders and champions.”


The 2WALKandCYCLE conference is addressing the walking and cycling issues in New Zealand, focusing on active, human-powered transport to achieve healthier, smarter and more liveable cities. It finishes tomorrow afternoon, Friday 8 July 2016.


Attendees included engineers, planners, architects, academics, politicians, advocates, local and central government employees, consultancies, health boards, universities and advocacy groups.


The judging panel for the Bike to the Future Awards included:

·         Richard Leggat, Chair of the New Zealand Cycle Trail, Board Member of Cycling NZ, Chair of the former Cycling Safety Panel , member of the Urban Cycleways Investment Panel

·         Mike Noon, General Manager Motoring Affairs, Automobile Association

·         Pippa Coom, Deputy Chair, Waitematā Local Board, cycling advocate and member of the Urban Cycleways Investment Panel.


For more information, please visit Bike to the Future Awards and 2WALKandCYCLE.


For further details on the winners, or to set up an interview please contact:

Frances Coles
Acumen Republic for NZ Transport Agency

D: 04 494 5126
M: 022 071 9115

Release Date: 
Thursday, 7 July, 2016